SACD - Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques
Entr'Actes
home
playwright database
News from Abroad
Translation Database
Playwrights Corner
In the Spotlight
New Plays in Print
Actes du théâtre Archives
 
 
Actes du théâtre :
newsletter
 
Site Map
 
[ french ]
 
 

Playwrights Corner

 
     
     
 

Playwrights corner

 
 
Laura Pelerins Barcelona - Fifteen hundred characters including spaces | Laura Pelerins


« Fifteen hundred characters including spaces. Damn, that`s mighty short. Give an account? Fine. But, uh, in chronological order or just randomly? I`m a lot messier than that. What if I started at the end? Not always the most effective, but who really gives a shit. For sure. So, to begin with: Barcelona`s good. And the Sala Beckett too. But I`m not won over. Not right off the bat anyway.

When I get there, I`m not too sure about it - even though being in the city center is a good start. I definitely like that. It feels really good. And the two out-of-the-loop Frenchies who arrive by taxi – late. It`s so French! Scoring points the minute we get there. What`s the welcome like? It`s weird when you don`t know anyone yet and you`ve only got feelings and impressions to work on. Someone cracks out a fan, and in that heat you need to drink, and eat. For sure, we`ll get good food down here. We`ll just eat, drink and not sleep.

First contact: reserved. What`s that about? And who`s this GUY who wants us to do exercises like at school where you`ve got fifteen minutes to come up with fifty-two adjectives describing blablabla - (shit, I`ve already overshot the 1,500 characters with spaces and this is never going to fit). So WHO IS this guy getting us to do Beach Volleyball to unite the group! (Simon, are you reading this?!) Unite my ass! Hello! We`re French! Individualists! And moaners! We like to make demands. We`re real eye candy too - or so they say. OK! Well, that`s nice to hear, so we won`t deny it! Oh right, and the main question is: `What is Europe?`

Well if we`re prototypes - then it`s all a big mess. And if the others are stereotypes, then we must be too, right? Yes, automatically! Ok then, time for some volleyball. This would never happen in France. I moan and groan - like a proper Frenchie. But in the end, I have to admit, even given all these playwrights who are so different, whose writing is so much a product of their cultures, with references that are rarely identical, something does happen. Something indefinable.

Could this be what is commonly known as the human element? Those magical encounters? When you wind up exchanging life stories with Catherine Grosvenor, whose Scottish anecdotes have you rolling with laughter? And with Juan Menchero, a disciple of the Spaniard Juan Mayorga; with Agosto Silveira, an Uruguayan TV star (by the way, Uruguay`s not in Europe, is it? Damn, that`s really cool, an outsider, from another culture, with a different sensibility); and with David Watson, whose frosty sense of humor is so English? When Simon Stephens and I cry in each other`s arms because we don`t want to leave - after not wanting to come in the first place? When you dance non-stop with Thomas Sauerteig, the talented director in charge of orchestrating our various plays? When you get through the language barrier with Marius (Macevicius), the Lithuanian? When you suddenly understand the Catalan in your play, and in the other people`s plays? And that magical moment on stage - so moving to Simon - when I take a bow with the actress performing my play and she admits crying before the performance because she was so touched by it. What a wonderful gift for a playwright! And the same magic of the theater when we`re taking our bow and Simon thinks I look so much like the actress playing my character (I`ve never seen her before - it`s Thomas who chose her). And then when...

Then there`s the shock of seeing Castellucci`s production, Il Purgatorio, which has me wandering around the streets of Barcelona alone at night and falling in love with the city. Still more encounters. Endless all-night discussions, quick beers, and all the smells, colors, sounds and images being soaked up or pushed away. Hey - that reminds me of one of Simon`s exercises!

I don`t sleep in Barcelona, I party, meet people, dance, and find out that I don`t write like my Anglo-Saxon or Spanish colleagues, who are more focused on narrative structure and creating characters than on the sound and music of the language. I discover that, despite our obvious stylistic differences, in the end my colleague Frédéric (Sonntag) and I strangely agree on our ideas about the theater, which I would also never have expected. (I`ve overshot the 1,500 characters for sure now!) I`m doing exercises outside the scope of my usual world - and it`s making me more aware of what that world is, helping me to affirm and refine it.

I learn to play volleyball and to appreciate the elegance and fairness of Simon Stephens who goes against his Anglo-Saxon sensibility in the final exercise by catering to the French participants: ``You have one hour. Feel free to make mistakes. There are no constraints, no orders. `` (Sorry David, Catherine, Anne, Davide, and the others! The French will be happy. Well, I truly was, Simon. And have to thank you very much.) During the hour that has our colleagues quaking, I write the entire structure of my new play, The Naked Man of Barcelona, and some of the dialogue. This English way of working, so different from my own process, is bearing fruit. Simon, I owe you my new play.

Ultimately, if we`re prototypes, then it`s all a big mess, but maybe we`re not completely screwed? - Because, I forget, the real question wasn`t ``What is Europe?`` No, it`s worse than that! It was: ``The end of Europe, question mark, dot dot dot, et cetera.``

Yeah. We`ll have to see. I say this isn`t even the beginning yet. At any rate it was productive, it was exhausting, it was exhilarating, it was interesting, it was highly contrasting, it was lively, it was... it was...Now I`ve gone way over the 1,500 characters, haven`t I?

Thanks to Victor (Munoz), Toni (Casares), Thomas (Sauerteig), Mireia, the beautiful Fernanda, Gemma and the others for your welcome. To my fellow playwrights - I hope to see you again. There weren`t that many of us, but we took up a lot of space. Let`s hope we soon take up even more.

Oh, one other thing: leaving behind the stereotypes, France`s honor remains intact; in addition to moaning and groaning to perfection, being fiendishly individualistic, critical and well-dressed...we can also dance! That`s right, sometimes cliches get it wrong. And that`s awesome.

 
Laura Pelerins,
November 2009
 
[ back ]

SACD - Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques
Entr'Actes
accueil
la moisson des auteurs
à l'étranger
la moisson des traductions
paroles d'auteurs
à l'affiche
au catalogue des éditeurs
archives actes du théâtre
 
 
Actes du théâtre :
la lettre d'information
 
Plan du site
 
[ anglais ]
 
 

paroles d'auteurs

 
     
     
 

Paroles d'auteur

 
 
Laura Pelerins Barcelona - Mille cinq cents signes espaces compris | Laura Pelerins


« Mille cinq cents signes espaces compris. Putain c'est drôlement court. Raconter. Bon. Mais euh, dans l'ordre ou dans le désordre ? Bordélique comme je suis. Et si je commençais par la fin ? Pas toujours efficace, mais on s'en fout, au fond. Ah oui. Alors. Déjà- C'était bien, Barcelone. Et la Sala Beckett. Pas convaincue pourtant. Pas convaincue d'avance.

J'arrive - je sais pas trop - même si, bon point, le centre ville. Ca oui. Vraiment, ça fait plaisir. L'arrivée en taxi - les deux Français paumés – en retard : comme c'est français! D'entrée, là-bas, ils marquent des points. L'accueil : c'est drôle, quand on connaît encore personne, et qu'on n'a que des sensations, des impressions. Un éventail se tend, il faut, vue la chaleur, à boire, aussi, et à manger. Ah oui, ça oui, là bas aussi on mangera bien. On mange, on boit, et on dort pas.

Première approche : sur la réserve. C'est quoi ce truc- c'est qui ce MEC qui veut qu'on fasse des exercices genre c'est l'école vous avez quinze minutes, trouvez cinquante-deux adjectifs qui décrivent et blabla - (eh merde, déjà trop de mots, ça tiendra pas, 1500 signes espaces, tout ça). C'est QUI ce mec qui nous fait faire du Beach volley pour souder le groupe ! (Simon, if you read me !!!) Souder mon cul ! Eh, oh ! On est français ! Donc, individualistes ! Râleurs, aussi, tiens, oui. On revendique. Canons, aussi, paraît dixit les autres ? Bon ! Bah ça fait plaisir, faut pas les contrarier ! Ah oui, en fait la question de base, c'est : « C'est quoi l'Europe ? »

Eh bah si on est représentatifs - c'est un joyeux bordel. Si les autres sont clichés, alors on l'est aussi ? Ah oui, hein, forcément ! Alors d'accord. Du volley, donc. En France, on n'a jamais vu ça. Je râle. Je râle. En bonne française. Mais au final, n'empêche - avec cet ensemble d'auteurs si différents les uns des autres, aux écritures toutes très marquées par leur culture, aux références si rarement identiques, un truc se passe, truc indéfinissable.

Est-ce que ce serait pas ça, finalement, l'élément humain ? La magie des rencontres ? Qui fait qu'au final on se raconte nos vies avec Catherine Grosvenor qui nous fait pleurer de rire en racontant l'Ecosse ? Avec Juan Menchero, le disciple de Juan Mayorga, l'Espagnol ? Avec Agosto Silveira, l'Uruguayen star de télé (et au fait, l'Uruguay, mais c'est pas en Europe ? Putain, c'est cool, un outsider, autre culture, autre sensibilité), avec David Watson, à l'humour froid si anglais? Qui fait qu'on se pleure dans les bras avec Simon Stephens en ne voulant plus rentrer chez nous alors qu'on ne voulait pas partir ? Qui fait qu'on danse sans relâche avec Thomas Sauerteig le talentueux metteur en scène chargé d'orchestrer nos pièces respectives ? Qu'on passe outre les écueils du langage avec Marius (Macevicius) le Lituanien ? Qui fait qu'on comprend soudain le catalan de notre pièce, et de celles des autres ? Cette magie du théâtre, aussi, qui émeut Simon quand je vais saluer avec la comédienne chargée d'interpréter ma pièce, laquelle m'a avoué avoir pleuré avant de commencer à jouer parce que ça la bouleverse - un beau cadeau, pour un auteur ! Cette magie du théâtre, donc, qui émeut Simon parce que (c'est Thomas qui a choisi, je ne l'avais jamais vue), au salut, je ressemble si fort à la comédienne qui incarne mon personnage ? Et puis, et puis...

Choc du spectacle de Castellucci, Il Purgatorio, qui me conduit à errer seule la nuit dans les rues de Barcelone, et à tomber en amour avec cette ville. Rencontres, encore et toujours. Les discussions sans fin, toute la nuit, les bières à la sauvette, l'absorption par osmose ou par rejet : odeurs, couleurs, sons, images... tiens, on dirait un des exercices de Simon !

A Barcelone, je ne dors pas, je fais la fête, je rencontre des gens, je danse, je découvre que je n'écris pas comme mes camarades anglo-saxons ou hispaniques, plus portés au travail de la structure narrative et à la création de personnages qu'à une recherche de sonorités, de musique de la langue. Je découvre que malgré les différences évidentes de style nous nous rejoignons étrangement sur la conception in fine du théâtre avec mon camarade Frédéric (Sonntag) ce que je n'aurais pas non plus parié. (Dépassés les 1500 signes, c'est sûr !) Je fais des exercices loin de mon univers - et je prends mieux conscience du même coup, de ce qu'il est. Je m'affirme, et m'affine.

J'apprends à jouer au volley et j'apprécie l'élégance et l'honnêteté de Simon Stephens qui, pour nous autres Français, organise le dernier exercice loin des sensibilités anglo-saxonnes : « Vous avez une heure. Sentez-vous libres de vous tromper. Aucune contrainte, aucune consigne. Sorry David, Catherine, Anne, Davide, and the others! The French will be happy ». Well, I truly was, Simon. And have to thank you very much. Pendant cette heure qui fait frémir nos camarades, j'écris toute la structure de ma nouvelle pièce, The Naked Man of Barcelona, et quelques scènes dialoguées. Le travail à l'anglaise, si loin de moi, a pourtant porté ses fruits. Simon, I owe you my new play.

Finalement, si on est représentatifs, alors c'est le bordel, mais on n'est peut-être pas foutus ? - Parce que, j'ai oublié, la vraie question, c'était pas « Qu'est-ce que c'est que l'Europe ? », non , encore pire ! C'était : « The end of Europe, point d'interrogation, points de suspension, et caetera ».

Mouais. Faut voir. Moi je dis, c'est même pas encore le début. En tout cas, c'était productif, c'était épuisant, c'était exaltant, c'était intéressant, c'était contrasté, c'était vivant, c'était – c'était – j'ai largement dépassé les 1500 signes, non ?

Merci Victor (Munoz), merci Toni (Casares), merci Thomas (Sauerteig), Mireia, et la belle Fernanda, Gemma, et les autres, pour votre accueil. A vous revoir, j'espère, mes camarades auteurs - on n'était pas si nombreux, mais on a pris de la place, espérons qu'on en prendra bientôt encore bien plus.

Ah, et nota bene : loin des clichés, l'honneur de la France est sauf - en plus de savoir râler à merveille, d'être individualistes en diable, critiques et bien sapés... on sait danser ! Eh ouais, parfois les clichés se trompent. Et ça, c'est réjouissant.

 
  Laura Pelerins,
novembre 2009
 
 
[ retour ]